Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & Espen Berg

When awarded “JazZtipendiatet” in 2016, Espen put together this 14-piece orchestra to premiere his commissioned work “MAETRIX” at Molde Int’l Jazz Festival 2017:

Espen Berg – piano, compositions
Kirsti Huke – vocal
Eirik Hegdal – saxophones
Hanna Paulsberg – tenor saxophone
Sissel Vera Pettersen – alto saxophone
Hildegunn Øiseth – trumpet
Hayden Powell – trumpet
Daniel Herskedal – tuba, bass trumpet
Ola Kvernberg – violin, viola
Marianne Badoin Lie – cello
Mattias Ståhl – vibraphone
Ole Morten Vågan – double bass
Hans Hulbækmo – drums
Tomas Järmyr – drums

TJO & Espen Berg will tour Scandinavia in October 2017.


03espenbergtrio_promo16_cua kopi.jpgEspen Berg Trio

Espen Berg – piano and compositions
Bárður Reinert Poulsen – bass
Simon Olderskog Albertsen – drums

Read about the trio on this dedicated page.

EspenBerg-ThorEgilLeirtrø-12 kopi.jpgSolo piano

Espen’s debut album as a solo pianist, Noctilucent (2012), was awarded great reviews from national and regional Norwegian newspapers. All About wrote that it was “one of the most beautiful releases of 2012”, placing it in their top-ten year’s end list. Acres of Blue (2014) was described as a “gorgeous solo recording” by


trio tettTrio Tett

Hildegunn Øiseth – trumpet, vocals, electronics
Espen Berg – piano, synths
Andreas Håkestad – drums

A highly communicating and outgoing trio playing freely improvised music with an extreme range, exploring all kinds of contrasts and dramatics in musical timelines.


neset-tjo-by-vidar-ruudTrondheim Jazz Orchestra and Marius Neset

This project is lead by saxophone virtuoso and composer Marius Neset. He was awarded one of Norway’s biggest jazz scholarships in 2012, which resulted in this project. TJO and Marius Neset has been touring in Norway and Europe, and released the CD “Lion” on the German label ACT in 2014, which was awarded the Norwegian Grammy, “Spellemann-prisen”.

Marius Neset – saxophones, composition
Eirik Hegdal – saxophones
Peter Fuglsang – alto saxophone, flute
Hanna Paulsberg – tenor saxophone
Erik Eilertsen – trumpet
Eivind Lønning – trumpet
Erik Johannesen – trombone
Daniel Herskedal – tuba
Jovan Pavlovic – accordeon
Espen Berg – piano
Petter Eldh – bass
Gard Nilsen – drums

kaarekolve1-1500x570Kåre Kolve Quartet

Kåre Kolve is a Norwegian saxophone player who has been working as a freelance musician since the 80s, touring with stars like Randy Crawford, Mezzoforte and Lava. In 2007 he formed his very first jazz quartet, which since then has released “My Direction” and “Further Directions”, both critically acclaimed albums.

Kåre Kolve – saxophones
Espen Berg – piano
Jo Fougner Skaansar – bass
Magnus Forsberg – drums


The Norwegian trio Listen has won several international awards and toured in great parts of Europe, as well as Syria and Cuba. Their debut album “Listen!” received great reviews and a lot of media attention when it was released in 2007. The Norwegian national broadcast channel described the trio as “a rarely well-interacting ensemble – regardless of genre”, and the renowned reviewer Roald Helgheim called the record “a celebration”. In addition to touring and producing albums as a trio, Listen has also done collaboration projects with Susanne Lundeng, Amer Dahbar, Afif Dahbar and Maher Mahmoud. The trio was formally resolved in 2015.

Bendik Giske – saxphones
Espen Berg – piano
Daniel Herskedal – tuba

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s